fifty shades of nonsense

for the past few days, I’ve been debating writing a post about this. about the absolute nonsense that is Fifty Shades of Grey. I’m driving in my car and in between each song on the radio, they are giving away movie tickets, soundtracks, apparel, whatever they can to promote this movie. I saw a headline where they are already planning a second and third movie.. because of course, all movies have to be trilogies now. (I know.. the books are trilogies.. But is it necessary to make every book trilogy a movie trilogy as well?) People are buying tickets in advance, going with their friends and significant other to see…what? A movie about abuse and power…masked in what our culture is telling them is love.

Wake up call.. this is not love and will never be love.

I don’t write this to be a joy kill or to make everyone feel guilty. But I do write this because the reality is that this book, movie and everything in between is simply a glorification of abuse: emotional, physical, domestic, sexual. There is a hashtag, #fiftyshadesofabuse, a Change.org petition, and numerous blog posts suggesting that maybe this isn’t the best thing ever. But that isn’t getting nearly as much publicity, of course.

Women, as much as you may be tricking yourself into thinking you want this, may I suggest that you don’t? Love is not a man that hits you.. whether it’s in the bedroom or it’s outside of the bedroom. From a biblical standpoint, love is about as far from this as it can be:

“Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away. When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways.  For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I have been fully known. So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.
-1 Corinthians 13

Now, let’s just talk for one second about hypocrisy. Obviously, many people are aware of things going on in the world today. Horrible and unimaginable things.. things done to women such as trafficking, (although this is done to men too), rape, and violence against women.. just because of the fact that they are not men. Not to mention that there are stories every day of women beaten, raped and even women who are killed by their partners, on the college campus, in their homes and women who feel completely trapped in their “relationship” and unable to get out. I doubt that anyone, watching/reading 50 Shades of Grey or not, would think that any of these topics suggested were OK or would encourage them. However, why is it that this movie “encourages” some of these things, “for the fun of it,” or “to enhance things” in their sex life? And why or how would it then make one thing OK but not the other? I simply don’t understand this. Would this Christian Grey really be someone that you would want to be with? Or would he be a terrifying, manipulative, guy that you likely would want to get away from as soon as possible?

In closing I just really encourage ladies to guard your hearts. (Proverbs 4:23) This is something that maybe you’ve heard in Christian circles.. I know I have and I still battle with what it means from time to time. But here, I would challenge you to really think about how reading, watching, even thinking about things of this nature can affect you. Instead, think upon how this can truly renew your mind and heart:
“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.”
Phillippians 4:8

For more information, I would strongly encourage you to read from people who are more well-versed and knowledgeable than myself:

Christian Grey Belongs in Jail, Not in Your Bedroom

Domestic Violence Activists Say Boycott <i>50 Shades of Grey</i>

5 Things ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Teaches About Sex

The Reality of a “Fifty Shades” Relationship

This page has been updated for some grammar mistakes and clarification.

3 thoughts on “fifty shades of nonsense

      1. Hi Grace, yes I did know there were 3 books and I just updated the post to reflect that. Thanks! I simply meant in saying that, that it doesn’t seem necessary to always make movies in 3’s.. It seems to just make more money for the movie industry, especially in this case when there is so much promo and buzz around it.

        And no, I haven’t read the book. Frankly I have no interest in reading or seeing the movie but thats partly why I wrote this… because I feel there can be more harm than good in reading or seeing something such as this. I understand that there is more behind what makes Christian Grey the way his is (childhood abuse, etc), but I still think there is absolutely nothing that justifies the way he treats and abuses Ana. It still glorifies abuse and makes things like this normal, which is why I think it can become dangerous and I really have no desire to see it. Thanks for your thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

